Help Me Find It

 

This song by Sidewalk Prophets has been stuck in my head for days. It has a catchy tune, but also powerful lyrics that speak a prayer held in many of our hearts. “If there’s a road I should walk help me find it, if I need to be still give me peace for the moment.”

None of us have a crystal ball or can see the future. Though many of us often wish we could. Humans throughout history have searched for the meaning of life and questioned our purpose on Earth. I don’t think that answer is one we can ever fully understand, but there is a simple response. We are here to seek God, to reside in his presence, to grow and learn and evolve, and to spread his Kingdom and bring glory to him.

Of course it doesn’t always work out this way because of a tricky little thing called free will that we all have and a tendency to want to make our own choices.

What we often forget, is that letting go and deferring to God’s will and God’s plan will actually make us a heck of a lot happier, and bring us much more joy and blessings than we could ever achieve on our own.

Learning to come to the well and rest, let go of our anxieties, and have a little faith…. is the key to a peaceful life. And when I say peaceful, I do not mean easy. Life will never be easy. Jesus warned us that it would never be easy. But there is an inner peace, in the midst of utter chaos and stresses, that comes from the Spirit alone.

I once heard, “fear is faith in the devil.” I like that. We have what many call “healthy fear” but I think of that more as knowledge, and wisdom. To not be reckless, and to understand when things are going to hurt you…that’s being wise, not afraid.

If we have faith “the size of a mustard seed” we could tell a mountain to move from here to there and it will move. Faith, allows us to walk on water, to part the sea. The same power within Peter and Moses is within each of us: The Holy Spirit.

I admire that kind of faith, that kind of peace… and I’m not there yet. I pray I get there someday.

Lord, your way has always brought me farther than my way. My way brings struggle and stress, and your way brings freedom and peace. If there’s a road I should walk help me find it, if I need to be still give me peace for the moment.

 

Categories: Spirituality and Faith | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

