Birds of the Air, Ducks in the Road

It was a coffeerough start.

I was supposed to be at work a little early, and hit snooze one too many times leaving me rushed. My Magic Bullet rebelled while blending my breakfast smoothie, allowing ground up bits of blueberry to seep out down the sides, and as soon as I sat down in my car I spilled coffee on myself.

I drove to work with frustration claiming every thought and steam blowing from my ears.

Why is life so hard sometimes?”

“I don’t even want to go to work! This means-to-an-end job I had never planned on still doing at my age…” (insert grumbling here)

I listened for an answer from above, knowing fully that my little mental tantrum had spoiled brat written all over it.

How ungrateful. How blessed I am, how wonderful a life I’ve been allowed to live, and yet this particular morning I was just insistent on throwing my sucker in the dirt and whining to the Lord about whatever I could find fault with. Though really, I just didn’t want to admit that my poor attitude was stemming from something completely within my control which was a fault all my own- that dang snooze button. I swear that thing is like an addictive drug. I’ve been pressing it my whole life and now that I’m older and trying to be more responsible, I just can’t stop.

My superficial complaints didn’t deserve any acknowledgement from God. But somehow, He was gracious enough to give me one anyway.

Driving down a busy street, my irritable inner monologue is interrupted as the corner of my eye catches the duck family stepping out into the middle of traffic, about to cross right in front of me. I slow my car to a near stop to allow two adults, and three fluffy yellow chicks safe passage, and silently will the cars coming in the other direction to slow as well.

image via thebookangel.com

image via thebookangel.com

In spite of myself, a grin cracks across my face as this little family snaps me back outside of myself and somehow manages to remind me of perspective. I’m immediately reminded of Matthew 6:25-34:

  • “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?
    “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

As I watch this little duck family I realize that God knows even them, and feeds them, and for today, allows them safety. It’s a reminder to chill out, that no matter how big of a mess I may be on any particular morning, He is still sovereign, His grace is sufficient, even then.

The duck parents step out from the curb, and the babies follow, both groups in blind faith, without worry of the cars or what may happen before they reach the other side. They just put one foot in front of the other and simply go.

Jesus, when it comes to my walk and any potholes or large moving obstacles along the way, help me have the blind faith of these little ducks. Help me look forward to the other side and see only You, instead of the distractions all around. Where You go I’ll go, where You lead, I’ll follow. 

image via myra.lifewithchrist.org

image via myra.lifewithchrist.org

Categories: Spirituality and Faith | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Birds of the Air, Ducks in the Road

  1. Great reminder, as we struggle to prepare for our “busy season”, to slow down and enjoy the trip.

    Like

  2. I agree! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

